Posted in Accessories, Decor, Dollhouses

Coastal Decor

The other day when I wasn’t feeling well, I decided to take a break from building and make a few decor items…. I was looking at my coffee table shell bowl and realised there were a few teeny tiny little shells and even pieces of coral in there…. Well, inspiration struck and I decided to make some modern coastal decor for my far off in the distance Hampton’s dollhouse… one day….

Not satisfied with just the shells I rummaged around in my charms and findings for nautical/coastal type items and found the fish skeleton and a seahorse… in they went to the mix.

I used jewelry pins to secure the shells, coral & fish to bases made of cut up coffee stirrers topped with cut up skinny sticks which were then stained with furniture touch up pens. I drilled tiny holes in the bases to attach the pins to the base and glued them to the back of the shells. With the coral I drilled a hole in the bottom of it as well to secure it to the base with a pin.

The base of the star shell is made from two clear plastic beads.

img_2487

Not content to stop there.. I rummaged around in my fabric stash and made some blue motif cushions.

img_2489img_2491img_2494

 

Then I got distracted by my bead box and made quite a few perfume/cosmetic bottles & jars…. I got a bit carried away…  😉img_2474

Leave a Reply

